About Mercy Catholic College


Established by the Sisters of Mercy in 1890 as St Catherine's School, then Our Lady of Dolours, then Catholic Girls' High Chatswood, the College has been led by the following Principals.

Year Principal
1926 Sister Mary Fidelis Sister Mary Genevieve
1937-42 Sister Mary Dorothea
1942 St. Catherine's and O.L.D.S combine
1943 Sister Mary Alexius
1944-46 Sister Mary Thomas
1947 Sister Mary Josepha
1948-51 Sister Mary Eugene
1952-54 Sister Mary Dorothea (second time)
1955-60 Sister Mary Canisius
1961-62 Sister Mary Christina
1963-68 Sister Mary Agneta
1969-71 Sister Mary Rosarii
1972 Sister Mary Geraldine (Maureen) McGuirk
1973 Sister Mary Annunciata
1974 Sister Mary Joseph
1975-78 Sister Jacky Ford
1979-88 Sister Kathleen Gilchrist

1988 Onwards

Since the withdrawal of the Sisters of Mercy in 1988, the College has been led by:

1989-98 Miss Janet Freeman
1999-2003 Mrs Jennifer Allen
2004-2009 Mr Ray Paxton
Ms Suzanne Kavanagh